Zapping. Objects and Installations, 1995 - 1999
Objects with photography on glass. TV- and Videostills

Zapping-Line, 1996

Zapping-Line, 1996
Tele-vision, 1996/97

Tele-vision, 1996/97
Emergency bed, 1995/96

Emergency bed, 1995/96
Ladder, 1995/96

Ladder, 1995/96
Zapping Box, 1996/97

Zapping Box
1996/97

My project »Zapping - Lines« is a crystalized gesticulation between an individual's various technologically defined gestures, from passive zapping and automatic clicking to the more active sampling and even on to the assertive insert-gestures. It is my intention to distill from an accelerated world of images a bit of information regarding our Conditio Humana.

In today's inundation of images, which sucks in and spits out all the »historical« happenings in a irreversable irresistable (unstoppable entertaining) way, current events are no longer rolling toward just any future but rather toward this technical »illusion.« The political action and the battle won do not appear to have had the intention of changing the world, but of simply being photographed or filmed - just as the moon landing was a television show (Flusser). Similarly, one has a wedding party these days in order to show the photos and videos of it afterwards. Only individual death remains alone and imageless.

As a trained child of TV, I cannot help but let myself be inundated by this reality and zap avidly-bored here and there. Now and then, I catch a few rastered, flickery scraps with my camera. Pictures of pictures of an imaginary Weltanschauung. It is only when I have sampled these redundant pictures like a DJ, and brought them together into rhythms in various series, that I can hope to turn up in the stream of images somehow as a subject, maybe even to exert influence over them. My artistic demands on myself require less an exercising of power or a hanger-on's rescue than a self-discovery necessary for survival. By using an insert-cut, I try to turn myself on with my own program: my self-confidence as »resistance - image«, as a trench for my desires and fears, as an ad for my most inner feelings about myself, which - given it has been extolled to me often enough - I finally begin to buy.

Pat Binder:
»Zapping als Selbstbewußtseinsstrategie« (translated by Rebeccah Blum)
In: Pat Binder: Zapping. Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen, Berlin 1996

Ballottement

Ballottement, 1995/96
video-installation
 


Hold on, please ..., 1997
Porträts, 1999

Portraits, 1999
©  Pat Binder  -  home  -  art  -  bio  -  texts  -  contact

Zapping. Objekte und Installationen, 1995 - 1999

Zapping-Line, 1996

Zapping-Line, 1996
Fernsicht, 1996/97

Fernsicht, 1996
Notbett, 1995/96

Notbett, 1995/96
Leiter, 1995/96

Leiter, 1995/96
Zapping Box, 1996/97

Zapping Box
1996/97

Mein Projekt zapping - lines ist ein kristallisiertes Gebärdenspiel zwischen verschiedenen technologisch bedingten Gesten eines Individuums, vom passiven zapping und automatischen klicking her, über das aktivere sampling hin bis zu der sich selbst behauptenden insert-Gestik. Meine Absicht dabei ist, aus einer beschleunigten Bilderwelt noch ein wenig Information über unsere Conditio Humana herauszudestillieren .

Im heutigen Überfluß an Bildern, der all die »geschichtlichen« Ereignisse auf unaufhaltsam unterhaltsamen Art in sich einsaugt und wieder ausspuckt, rollt das gegenwärtige Geschehen nicht mehr irgendeiner Zukunft, sondern eben dieser technischen »Einbildung« entgegen. Die politische Aktion wie die gewonnene Schlacht scheinen es nicht darauf abgesehen zu haben, die Welt zu verändern, sondern fotografiert oder gefilmt zu werden, genauso wie die Mondlandung ein Fernsehprogramm war (Flusser). Ähnlich inszeniert man heute ein Hochzeitsfest, um die Fotos und Videos zeigen zu können. Nur das individuelle Sterben bleibt einsam und bilderlos.

Als trainiertes T.V. Kind kann ich selbst auch nicht anders als mich von dieser Wirklichkeit überfluten zu lassen und eifrig-gelangweilt hin und her zu zappen. Es kann ab und zu geschehen, daß ich knipsend ein paar gerasterte Flimmerfetzen in meinem Fotoapparat einfange. Bilder von Bildern einer eingebildeten Weltanschauung. Erst indem ich diese redundanten Aufnahmen wie ein D.J. sample und sie in verschiedenen Serien zu Rhythmen zusammenstelle, kann ich hoffen, noch irgenwie als Subjekt in den Bilderstrom einzufließen, vielleicht sogar Einfluß auf ihn zu gewinnen. Mein künstlerischer Anspruch verlangt von mir aber weniger eine Machtausübung oder Mitläuferrettung als vielmehr eine überlebensnotwendige Selbst(er)findung. Durch einen insert- Schnitt versuche ich mich mit einem Eigenprogramm einzuschalten: mein Selbstbewußtsein als »resistance - image«, als Schützengraben meiner Sehnsüchte und Ängste, als Werbespot meines innersten Selbstgefühls, das ich, wenn es mir oft genug angepriesen wurde, zuletzt noch zu »kaufen« beginne (»to buy« bedeutet umgangssprachlich auch »an etwas glauben«).

Pat Binder: Zapping als Selbstbewußtseinsstrategie
In: Pat Binder: Zapping. Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen, Berlin 1996

Ballottement

Ballottement, 1995/96
Videoinstallation
 


Augenblick ..., 1997
Porträts, 1999

Porträts, 1999
©  Pat Binder  -  home  -  kunst  -  bio  -  texte  -  kontakt