Book-objects, actions  -  1990 bis 1992

The Tree of Knowledge, 1990Grial

Canada, 1990

The Trap, 1992

The Trap, 1992

Orbis, 1992

Orbis, 1992
As she began to occupy herself with psychological and nature-philosophical questions as well as with religions of the Far East, Pat Binder became increasingly conscious of the problematic conflict between nature and culture. In a country of sheer unending forests, [in Canada] she recognized in the tree an overall cultural symbol of the universe. She made first attempts to connect tree parts with the book, the epitome of culture.

J.L. Borges was most likely the force behind this. According to him, the book is the most astonishing of all human tools because, while other aides are the extension of manual functions or the organs of the senses, it is an extension of the memory and the imagination. Among other things, he pointed out the fact that in the Orient today the idea still exists, that a book cannot reveal things but rather only help to discover them. Therefore it is an incentive to follow thoughts, to explain them and to interpret them based on one's own knowledge.
Mission, 1992

Mission, 1992
Resistence, 1992

Resistance, 1992

Ecoglyphs, 1992

Ecoglyphs, 1992

Detail, 1992

Detail, 1992
For her, books are symbols of civilization and holistic signs, in which the world is crystallized in miniature and from which countless views of the world arise. In this she found an ideal object for in her search for completeness and meaning. Despite all intellectual background, her way of dealing with it is more aesthetic. In this respect, it is for the most part not crucial which content the chosen books have.

... The opened book defines a space into which it reaches. Like a sculpture, the space has been expanded with branches and constructions made of other natural materials that project out of the pierced body of books. In other objects, the space remains limited to the dimension of the opened book. Assemblages of wood pieces, string, dried fruit peels, etc mounted onto these, their value increased by the background of the pages, appear as cryptic symbols. These »ecoglyphs« evoke an ideal, original condition of the unity between culture and nature, and remind one of their irretrievable harmony. Old German volumes in gothic typography were used exclusively for this. Pat Binder sees a parallel between this type's disappearance from daily use and the extinction of animal and plant varieties. She was also attracted by the intriguing correspondence between the branched form of the type and the organic forms place above it.

Action, 1992

Action, 1992

The creation of these works came about as a kind of ritual act. The sacrilege of drilling and piercing books, the incunabula of civilization, the organization and assemblage of natural settings and, finally, the connection of both spheres are actions of symbolic consequence. In performances and actions, like »Piercing Books - Threading Culture« (1992, International Gaia Symposium in the Ruhr region), they were presented as independent, artistic forms of articulation.
    Abstracts from: Gerhard Haupt, Resistance-images
In: Pat Binder: Zapping. Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen, Berlin 1996
©  Pat Binder  -  home  -  art  -  bio  -  texts  -  contact

Buchobjekte, Aktionen  -  1990 bis 1992

Der Weisheitsbaum, 1990

Kanada, 1990

Die Falle, 1992

Die Falle, 1992

Orbis, 1992

Orbis, 1992
Über die Beschäftigung mit psychologischen und naturphilosophischen Fragestellungen sowie mit fernöstlichen Religionen wurde Pat Binder das problematische Spannungsverhältnis von Natur und Kultur deutlicher bewußt. Im Land der schier endlosen Wälder [in Kanada] erkannte sie dabei im Baum ein kulturübergreifendes Symbol des Universums. Sie unternahm erste Versuche, Teile von Bäumen mit dem Buch, dem Inbegriff von Kultur schlechthin, in Verbindung zu bringen.

Möglicherweise stand Borges dabei Pate. Ihm zufolge ist das Buch unter den menschlichen Werkzeugen das erstaunlichste, denn während andere Hilfsmittel Erweiterungen manueller Funktionen oder der Sinnesorgane sind, ist es eine Erweiterung des Gedächtnisses und der Phantasie. Unter anderem verwies er darauf, daß im Orient heute noch die Vorstellung existiert, ein Buch dürfe die Dinge nicht offenbaren, sondern nur helfen, sie zu entdecken. Es ist also ein Anreiz, Gedanken zu folgen, sie auszulegen und ausgehend vom eigenen Wissen zu interpretieren.
Mission, 1992

Mission, 1992
Widerstand, 1992

Widerstand, 1992

Ökoglyphen, 1992

Ökoglyphen, 1992

Detail, 1992

Detail, 1992
... Bücher sind für Pat Binder zivilisatorische Sinnbilder und holistische Zeichen, in denen sich die Welt im Kleinen kristallisiert und aus denen heraus sich unzählige Sichtweisen auf die Welt ergeben. Sie fand darin ein ideales Objekt für ihre Suche nach Vollkommenheit und Sinn. Aber ihr Umgang damit ist bei allem intellektuellen Hintergrund ein ästhetischer. Insofern ist es zumeist nicht entscheidend, welchen Inhalt die benutzten Bücher haben.

... Das aufgeschlagene Buch definiert einen Raum, indem es in ihn hineingreift. Wie bei einer Skulptur ist dieser durch Äste und Konstruktionen aus anderen natürlichen Materialien erweitert worden, die weit aus dem durchbohrten Körper von Büchern herausragen. ... Diese »Ökoglyphen« evozieren einen idealen Urzustand des Einklangs von Kultur und Natur und lassen an dessen unwiederbringliche Auflösung denken. Dafür wurden ausschließlich alte deutsche Bände mit gotischen Lettern benutzt. Im Verschwinden der heute kaum noch verwendeten Schrift aus dem Alltag sieht Pat Binder eine Parallele zum Aussterben von Tier- und Pflanzenarten. Zum anderen reizte sie die spannungsvolle Korrespondenz der verästelten Gestalt der Schriftzeichen mit den davorliegenden organischen Formen.

Aktion, 1992

Aktion, 1992

Die Entstehung dieser Werke vollzog sich in einer Art rituellem Akt. Das Sakrileg des Durchbohrens und Zerstechens von Büchern, den Inkunabeln der Zivilisation, das Ordnen und Zusammenbauen von Versatzstücken der Natur und schließlich das Verbinden beider Bereiche sind Handlungen von symbolischer Tragweite. In Performances und Aktionen, wie »Bücher aufspießen - Kultur einfädeln« (1992, Internationales Gaia-Symposium im Ruhrgebiet) wurden sie als eigenständige künstlerische Artikulationsform präsentiert.
    Auszüge aus: Gerhard Haupt, Resistance-images
In: Pat Binder: Zapping. Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen, Berlin 1996
©  Pat Binder  -  home  -  kunst  -  bio  -  texte  -  kontakt